Board Members

ICOM Europe Board (2022 – 2025)

President (08. 2022 – 02.2024) – Juliette Raoul-Duval (France)

Juliette Raoul-Duval has dedicated her entire career to serving the museum community. She began her journey as the head of the Museum Office at the Ministry of Research and Higher Education and later took on significant roles such as General Secretary of the Palais de la Découverte and Deputy Director and Director of the Musée des Arts et Métiers in Paris.

Until September 2022, she held the position of President of ICOM France, where she played an active role in shaping discussions on museums, their definitions, missions, and the pressing challenges they confront. Her leadership led to numerous thought-provoking debates among professionals in France and around the world, featuring prominent institutional, political, and scientific figures. These discussions covered a wide range of topics, including restitution, resource management, sustainable development, and the evolving role of museums in the 21st century.

Juliette Raoul-Duval also contributes her expertise to several other organizations, serving as the General Secretary of the Fondation la Ruche Seydoux, a Board Member of Bouclier Bleu France, a Board Member of Amscsti (the French National Association of Museums and Scientific Centers), and a member of the Advisory Council board at France Museum Développement.

President (02.2024 – 11.2025) – Giuliana Ericani (Italy)

Giuliana Ericani, an Art Historian, graduated from the University of Padua in 1974 under the guidance of Rodolfo Pallucchini. Her career spans various significant roles and achievements:

From 1980 to 2002, she was part of the Ministry of Culture in the Soprintendenza of Veneto.
Giuliana served as the City of Bassano del Grappa manager and Director of the Musei Biblioteca Archivio of Bassano del Grappa from 2002 to 2015. During her tenure, she oversaw multiple sections of the institution, including the Library, Art and Naturalistic Museums, historical Archives, Print and Drawings Cabinet, and related reserves. She organized numerous conferences and exhibitions, both nationally and internationally, and played a crucial role in outfitting the Bassano museums. The Museum Remondini, opened in 2007, received acclaim as ICOM Italy’s Year Museum in 2010.
Giuliana is the author of several important books and entries (over 200) about art and decorative arts in Veneto, covering topics such as silver, furniture, wooden sculptures, ceramics, and textiles from the 15th to 18th century. She also coordinated and directed museological and museographic settings and exhibitions.
She chaired ICOM ICFA, the international Committee of Fine Arts and Collections from 2010 to 2016, organizing annual meetings on Fine Arts museums’ global concerns. These meetings covered a wide range of themes, from cultural transfer to the digital era.
Giuliana held the position of chair of the ICOM Europe Board for the three-year periods of 2016-2019 and 2019-2022. She organized the 2017 annual conference, “The role of local and regional museums in the making of a people’s Europe,” in Bologna, with published proceedings available.
Currently, she serves as the chairman of the ICOM Italia Committee of Probiviri, is a member of the Board of C.I.H.A Italy, and holds a position on the Board of the Accademia Galleries of Venice.

Board members:

Mario Nuno do Bento Antas (Portugal)

Dr. Mário Antas is a museologist with extensive academic qualifications. He earned his Ph.D. in Museology from Lusófona University of Humanities and Technologies in 2014, receiving top honors. He also holds a Master’s degree in Art History and a degree in History from Universidade Lusíada, Lisbon. Dr. Antas has a strong background in education, cultural action, and public engagement within museums.

Currently, he serves as the Director of the National Coach Museum in Lisbon, Portugal. He has been a Senior Technician at the General Directorate of Cultural Heritage since 2006, playing a pivotal role in various projects. In 2012, Dr. Antas was honored with the International Council of Museums (ICOM) prize for Best Educational Practice in Museums.

He is an experienced educator and has supervised master’s dissertations and doctoral theses at Lusófona University of Humanities and Technologies. Dr. Antas has also made significant contributions to international projects, including coordinating the Portuguese team for the EU-LAC project and the European Project EMEE Eurovision.

As an author and co-author, he has published numerous scientific articles on History, Museology, Art, and Heritage in national and international journals. His research primarily focuses on Museology, especially in education, communication, and public engagement.

Dr. Antas has a strong association with ICOM, having served as a board member of ICOM Portugal from 2014 to 2020 and as the European coordinator of ICOM-CECA from 2016 to 2019. Since 2019, he has been an active member of the board of ICOM Europe.

Alexandre Chevalier (Belgium)
Chair ICOM Belgium (2020-2023) & Chair ICOM Belgique Wallonie/Bruxelles




Lana Karaia (Georgia)
Chair of ICOM Georgia, Head of the Museum of Tbilisi State Academy of Art




Elke Kellner (Austria)
Managing Director of ICOM Austria




Bjorn Stenvers (Netherlands) 

Björn Stenvers is a distinguished museum marketing expert and the CEO of the I-NGO Eye Care Foundation. He actively contributes to the museum sector through roles in the Manus Brinkman Fund and as a board member of ICOM MPR. Previously, he served as CEO of the ICOM Endowment Fund and director of the Amsterdam Museums Foundation.

With a background in marketing, art history, and communications, Björn advises Ministries globally on collaborative strategies. He has lectured at the Universita Roma Tre and participated in the Cultural Leadership International program of the British Council.

In Amsterdam, Björn holds prominent board positions, including Chair of the supervisory board of the People & University of Amsterdam and Chair of the Diamond Museum Amsterdam. Internationally, he serves on the boards of ICOM MPR, the Russian Art Museum, and the Sarian Museum. Björn is also affiliated with the World Heritage Site of Brest Fortress, the Altai Museums, the Moscow Zoo, the Komi Republic, and the Erasmus House in Jakarta.



ICOM Europe board (2019 – 2022)


Luís Raposo (Portugal) – Executive Board member of ICOM

Board members

  • Jacques Terrière (France) – Member of ICOM France board; nominated treasure by the President
  • Guliana Ericani (Italy) – Member of ICOM Italy board
  • Monika Hagedorn-Saupe (Germany) – Chair of CIDOC, Member of the board of the EUROPEANA FOUNDATION, Chair of the SIG Documentation in the German Museum Association
  • Teti Hadjinicoalau (Greece) – Member of ICOM Greece board
  • Elke Kellner (Austria) – ICOM Austria managing director